Skip to content
PDFBetter

Head to head · facts checked Oct 15, 2026

PDFBetter vs pdfFiller

pdfFiller vs PDFBetter compared on price, free use, editing, e-signatures, forms and AI. What we tested, what each plan includes, and who should pick which.

Reviewed

Our verdict

pdfFiller is a broad, established document platform with native apps, cloud-storage integrations, a large US legal-forms library and signNow-powered signing on its Premium plan. PDFBetter covers the same core jobs — editing, forms, signing, conversion, OCR and AI — with a permanent Free plan, browser tools that download without an account, and e-signatures and form publishing included from Pro. If you rely on pdfFiller's ecosystem extras, stay; if you want simpler pricing and published limits, PDFBetter is the closer fit.

Written by PDFBetter, so read it knowing we're one of the two products. Every pdfFiller fact below links to its source.

The 26-row feature table, at a glance

  • yes
  • partial
  • paid plans
  • no
  • unknown

PDFBetter

18 yes · 1 partial · 3 paid plans · 4 no

pdfFiller

10 yes · 9 paid plans · 3 no · 4 unknown

Who should pick which

Pick by what you actually need

Choose pdfFiller if…

  • You need a native Android app or a Chrome extension; PDFBetter's Android app is coming soon.
  • You work in Google Drive, Dropbox, Box or OneDrive and want direct cloud-storage integrations.
  • You need a large library of US state-specific legal forms, which pdfFiller includes with Premium.
  • Your forms must collect payments or file attachments, both listed on pdfFiller's Premium plan.
  • Your organization needs enterprise terms pdfFiller lists, such as SSO, an uptime SLA or a separately priced HIPAA option.
Visit pdffiller.com

Choose PDFBetter if…

  • You want a free plan that does not expire, rather than a trial that turns into a subscription.
  • You mostly merge, split, rotate or convert images and want those downloads without creating an account.
  • You send documents for signature or publish fillable forms and want both in a mid-priced plan instead of a top tier.
  • You need a one-off job done and prefer a one-time Day Pass to a subscription.
  • You want AI answers that cite the page they came from and AI costs shown per action.
See PDFBetter plans

Pricing

What each one costs

PDFBetter
Free: $0 with 3 edited-document downloads, 3 signature requests and 20 AI credits a month, with no card and no end date. Pro: $15/month, or $10/month billed yearly, with a 7-day free trial for first-time subscribers (card required). Business: $24/seat/month, or $18/seat/month billed yearly. Day Pass: $6 one time for 24 hours of Pro.
pdfFiller
Basic $8/month billed annually or $20 month-to-month; Plus $12/month annually or $30 month-to-month; Premium $15/month annually or $40 month-to-month (includes signNow). Fax is a paid add-on. No free plan; pdfFiller's facts page describes a 30-day free trial.

pdfFiller prices checked on pdffiller.com. Prices change; the source is authoritative.

PDFBetter apps

In the browser, on your desktop, on your phone

Everything on this page works in any browser. The apps use the same account and the same documents.

All PDFBetter downloads

Feature by feature

26 things compared

Show all 26 rows
PDFBetter compared with pdfFiller, feature by feature
FeaturePDFBetterpdfFiller
Start editing without an accountBoth let you open the editor and work before signing up. pdfFiller behavior tested on 2026-10-15.YesYes
Download an edited document without an accountPDFBetter asks for a free account at download. In our pdfFiller test, Save as Fillable PDF and Share both opened an account-creation prompt.NoNo
Merge, split, rotate and image-to-PDF downloads without an accountPDFBetter runs these tools in your browser and the download is free. We did not test pdfFiller's page tools without an account.YesUnknown
Free plan (not a trial)PDFBetter Free includes 3 edited-document downloads a month with no time limit. pdfFiller lists paid plans and a free trial.YesNo
One-time purchase instead of a subscriptionPDFBetter Day Pass: $6 for 24 hours of Pro. pdfFiller's pricing page lists subscriptions only.YesNo
Edit existing textYesYes
Fill and sign your own documentsYesYes
Request signatures from othersPDFBetter Free includes 3 requests a month; Pro is unlimited. pdfFiller's pricing page lists sending for signature via signNow on Premium.YesPaid plans
Signing order, reminders and completion certificatepdfFiller advertises signing order, reminders and an audit trail; sending is listed under Premium.YesPaid plans
Email one-time code for signersPDFBetter: every plan, including Free. The signer enters a 6-digit code sent to their email before opening the document; it expires in 10 minutes.YesUnknown
Per-signer cryptographic keyPDFBetter: each signer's browser creates its own ECDSA P-256 key that never leaves the device and signs the document's SHA-256 fingerprint together with what they entered; PDFBetter's certificate authority certifies the key.YesUnknown
Sealed, time-stamped completed PDFsPDFBetter seals the completed PDF and certificate with a PAdES signature and, when the service is reachable, an independent RFC 3161 time-stamp, with the signing evidence embedded in the file. Change one byte and PDF readers show it. The seal certificate comes from PDFBetter's own certificate authority, which is not on Adobe's trust list yet, so Acrobat shows the signer identity as not verified; change detection still works.YesUnknown
Bulk sendPDFBetter: Business plan. pdfFiller: listed among paid-plan features on its editor page.Paid plansPaid plans
Build fillable formspdfFiller lists basic fillable fields from Plus.YesPaid plans
Publish forms and collect responsesPDFBetter Free: 1 live form, 50 responses a month. pdfFiller: hosting forms from Plus, web forms on Premium.YesPaid plans
Collect payments in formsListed on pdfFiller Premium.NoPaid plans
Word, Excel and PowerPoint conversionPDFBetter Free includes 10 Office conversions a month; Pro includes 500.YesYes
OCR for scanned PDFsPDFBetter Free includes 20 OCR pages a month.YesYes
RedactionPDFBetter removes the underlying text and image content under each redaction. We did not test pdfFiller's redaction output.YesYes
Compress PDFYesYes
AI summary, chat and translationPDFBetter answers cite page numbers and show the credit cost of each action. pdfFiller's pricing page does not state AI limits.YesYes
FaxPDFBetter Business includes 50 fax pages a month, or buy a page pack. pdfFiller sells fax as a monthly add-on.Paid plansPaid plans
APIPDFBetter: Business plan. pdfFiller: PDF Tools API via airSlate; contact sales.Paid plansPaid plans
Native desktop and mobile appsPDFBetter: free Mac and Windows apps; iPhone and iPad app coming soon to the App Store; Android coming soon. pdfFiller lists iOS, Android and macOS apps.PartialYes
Cloud-storage integrations (Google Drive, Dropbox, Box, OneDrive)NoYes
US state-specific legal forms librarypdfFiller Premium includes US Legal Forms. PDFBetter offers original templates and official government forms fetched from the issuer.NoPaid plans

“Paid plans” means the feature exists but not on a free tier. “Unknown” means we couldn't verify it.

Pricing and what you can do for free

pdfFiller's pricing page lists three individual plans. Basic is $8 a month billed annually or $20 month-to-month, Plus is $12 annually or $30 month-to-month, and Premium is $15 annually or $40 month-to-month. Annual plans carry an annual commitment. Faxing is a separate monthly add-on whose price drops on higher tiers. Enterprise versions of Basic and Premium require a minimum number of seats.

pdfFiller has no free plan. Its product-facts page describes a 30-day free trial with no credit card required to start, and the account prompt we saw mentioned a trial. The pricing page itself does not state the trial length for individual plans, so check the terms shown at signup.

PDFBetter's browser tools (merge, split, rotate, images to PDF and similar) run on your device and download free without an account. Downloading a document you edited in the editor needs a free account; the Free plan includes 3 such downloads a month with no watermark, plus 3 signature requests, 1 live form with 50 responses, 20 OCR pages and 20 AI credits. Pro costs $15 a month, or $10 a month billed yearly, and a $6 Day Pass gives 24 hours of Pro without a subscription.

Prices on both sides change. We link the pdfFiller pricing page we checked, and PDFBetter's own pricing page is generated from the same plan file that enforces the limits.

What happens when you click Download

On 15 October 2026 we opened a fillable document in pdfFiller without logging in. The editor, the Edit PDF mode, the form builder, the signature wizard and the signer-invitation setup were all usable. Choosing Download opened export settings first; choosing Save as Fillable PDF, or Share, opened an account-creation dialog with Google, Facebook, Apple and email options and trial messaging. We did not create an account, so we cannot say whether a payment step follows signup.

PDFBetter also asks for an account before you download a document edited in its editor, and tells you so on the tool page before you start. The difference is what comes after: the Free plan includes monthly downloads with no end date and no card, and a paid plan is only needed when the free allowance runs out. PDFBetter's browser tools — merge, split, rotate, extract, images to PDF and PDF to images — skip the account step entirely because the file never leaves your device.

Editing, pages and conversion

Both editors cover the everyday set: replace existing text, add text, images, checkmarks, dates, tables and shapes, highlight and comment, and insert, delete, reorder, rotate and resize pages. pdfFiller's feature directory also lists find and replace, spell check, page numbers, watermarks, compare and compression, which PDFBetter has as well.

For conversion, pdfFiller lists PDF to and from Word, Excel, PowerPoint, JPG and PNG, and says its OCR handles more than 30 languages. PDFBetter runs Office conversions and OCR on its own processing servers and counts them against a monthly allowance, while image conversions run in your browser. Neither of us can match every font in every PDF; editing existing text works best on PDFs created digitally rather than scanned.

On redaction, PDFBetter removes the text and image content under each redaction box and rewrites the file, rather than drawing a black rectangle over content that can still be copied. pdfFiller lists a Redact PDF tool; we did not test its output, so we make no claim either way.

E-signatures and forms

pdfFiller's pricing page places sending documents for signature under Premium, delivered through signNow (a Premium signNow plan is included), alongside web forms, custom branding, payment collection, attachments and advanced recipient authentication. Plus adds reusable templates, basic fillable fields and online form hosting. pdfFiller's editor landing page, by contrast, says e-signature, form building and OCR are included on all plans, so confirm which tier you need with pdfFiller before you buy.

In PDFBetter, signing your own document, requesting signatures, building fillable forms and publishing them for responses are all on the Free plan with monthly limits, and Pro ($15 a month, or $10 billed yearly) removes the cap on signature requests and raises forms to 10 live forms with 1,000 responses a month. Requests support signing order, reminders, expiry, a certificate of completion and a one-time code emailed to each signer; Pro adds access codes you share by phone or text, and Business adds bulk send and branded signing.

Every signer signs with their own cryptographic key. Every completed PDF is digitally sealed and independently time-stamped, with the evidence built into the file. Change one byte and PDF readers show it, and PDFBetter keeps the signing evidence for 7 years. The seal certificate comes from PDFBetter's own certificate authority, which is not on Adobe's trust list yet, so Acrobat shows the signer identity as not verified; change detection still works.

PDFBetter's signature requests are designed to the technical requirements of an advanced electronic signature (eIDAS art. 26): a unique key per signer, under their sole control, linked to the document so any change is detectable. Signers are identified by email (and an optional emailed code), not by ID documents or SMS. PDFBetter signatures are not qualified electronic signatures (QES), and PDFBetter does not run SMS, phone, knowledge-based or government-ID checks.

PDFBetter's form builder has 23 field types, including formulas, currency, dropdowns and conditional show-or-hide rules. It does not collect payments. If payments, ID-document checks or SMS codes matter, pdfFiller Premium or a dedicated e-signature or forms product is the better match.

AI features and how they are priced

pdfFiller lists AI summary, translation, chat with a document, semantic search, an AI PDF editor, AI document creation and automatic signing preparation. Its pricing page does not say how much AI use each plan includes.

PDFBetter's AI answers cite the page numbers they draw on, so you can check the source before relying on an answer. Every AI action shows its credit cost before you run it — a summary costs 2 credits, a chat message 1 — and plans include a monthly allowance (20 on Free, 500 on Pro). Extra credits come in a $5 pack of 500 that does not expire.

Privacy, processing and switching

pdfFiller is a cloud service: documents are uploaded to and edited in its online workspace. PDFBetter's browser tools process files on your device and never upload them. Editor documents, Office conversions and OCR are stored and processed on PDFBetter's servers, and AI features send document text to an AI provider under API terms that exclude training. Each tool page says which of these applies.

To move over, download your documents from pdfFiller as PDFs and upload them to PDFBetter. Standard fillable fields stay fillable, but pdfFiller-specific settings such as conditional rules, field roles and saved templates do not transfer and need to be rebuilt. Keep completed signed documents and their audit records from pdfFiller as they are rather than re-signing them.

PDFBetter vs pdfFiller: questions people ask

Can I download a PDF from pdfFiller without an account?

In our 15 October 2026 test, editing worked without logging in, but Save as Fillable PDF and Share both opened an account-creation prompt. We did not test whether payment is required after signup.

Does pdfFiller have a free plan?

Its pricing page lists only paid plans. pdfFiller's facts page describes a 30-day free trial with no credit card required to start. PDFBetter's Free plan has no end date and includes a monthly allowance of downloads, signature requests, form responses and AI credits.

Is e-signature included in every pdfFiller plan?

pdfFiller's pricing page lists sending documents for signature, via an included signNow plan, under Premium. Its editor landing page says e-signature is included on all plans, so confirm with pdfFiller which tier covers your use. In PDFBetter, requesting signatures is available on Free with a monthly limit and unlimited on Pro.

Is PDFBetter cheaper than pdfFiller?

It depends on billing and features. pdfFiller Basic is $8 a month billed annually or $20 month-to-month, but sending for signature is listed under Premium at $15 or $40. PDFBetter Pro is $15 a month or $10 billed yearly and includes signature requests and form publishing. Check both pricing pages, since prices change.

Will my pdfFiller forms work in PDFBetter?

Standard fillable fields in a downloaded PDF stay fillable. pdfFiller-only settings such as conditional logic, recipient roles and saved templates do not carry over, so rebuild those in PDFBetter's form builder.

Does PDFBetter have a mobile app?

PDFBetter's iPhone and iPad app is coming soon to the App Store, and an Android app is coming soon. Meanwhile it runs in the phone's browser, and the signing page for recipients is designed for phones. On computers there are free desktop apps for Mac and Windows. pdfFiller offers native iOS, Android and macOS apps.

Sources

7 sources
  1. pdfFiller pricing — pdffiller.com, checked
  2. pdfFiller product facts (trial, AI, API, integrations) — pdffiller.com, checked
  3. pdfFiller feature directory — pdffiller.com, checked
  4. pdfFiller Edit PDF landing page (plan statements) — edit-pdf.pdffiller.com, checked
  5. pdfFiller request signatures page — get-pdf-documents-signed.pdffiller.com, checked
  6. PDFBetter pricing and plan limits — pdfbetter.com, checked
  7. PDFBetter security: e-signature evidence — pdfbetter.com, checked

Try PDFBetter on your own file.

No account to start. Browser tools never upload your file.